Scale or Note Set

Select the notes, scales, or chords to include in the drill and select the key signature.




The options include:


Chromatic Scale a scale using all twelve half steps within the octave - every note over the entire range or over one octave an interval with the same note names but twelve half steps higher or lower only

Major Scale - notes of the major scale over the entire range

Modes - one octave: Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Lochrian

Harmonic an interval or chord where all notes sound simultaneously minor Scale

Melodic a musical line where notes sound one after another minor Scale Ascending

Black Keys Only - just Db, Eb, Gb, Ab, and Bb or their enharmonic equivalents: C#, D#, F#, G#, A#

Five Finger Contrary - included for keyboard studies

Three and four note subsets of the pentatonic scale, for example, mi so la

Pentatonic Scales - for example, do pentatonic, do to do’, also re, mi, so, la, pentatonic scales in one octave

Pentatonic - do, re, mi, so, la, over entire range

Tetrachords - do re mi fa in one octave, two, or all octaves

Pentachords - Major - do, re, mi, fa, so

Pentachords - minor - la, ti, do, re, mi

The options for pentachords are to include one, two, two that are two octaves apart, and all. These are included for keyboard hand position studies and are also useful for ear training developing skill to identify elements of music by ear.

Whole Tone Scale - all Major 2nds

Diminished 7th - all minor 3rds

Augmented - all Major 3rds

Quartal - all Perfect 4ths

Diminished Scales


Seventh Chords

Ninth Chords

Chromatic Subsets – 3,5,7, or 9 chromatic notes starting at the lowest white key and repeating in every octave within the range

Exotic Scales - Blues, double harmonic, Oriental, Hindu, Javanese, enigmatic, etc.


see also: Scale and Chord Reference